As cybersecurity practices of quantum computing increase, research in the corporate, public, and academic sectors have seen a great spike. A virtual education session that is sponsored by Utimaco and hosted by Secure Technology Alliance, will take place on December 9th, 2020. The session will focus on the emerging risk and outline best practices for a quantum-resistant IT infrastructure that will be done by leaders in post-quantum cryptography. 

The speakers will consist of: Dieter Bong, Utimaco; Lily Chen, NIST; Brian LaMacchia, Microsoft Research; Michele Mosca, University of Waterloo; and Randy Vanderhoof, Secure Technology Alliance. 

Randy Vanderhoof, executive director of the Secure Technology Alliance, speaks to the importance of maintaining the integrity of vital infrastructures and looking to tackle new technology, new threats, and smart hackers. He said that the future iterations of quantum computers will be able to break through the asymmetric algorithms that serve as the foundation of cryptography and preparing for this move is key – with the webinar providing vital insight into implementing quantum-resistant IT infrastructures with an emphasis on federal and defense systems. 

Here’s a sneak peek of what one can expect from the webinar: 

  • Threats presented by quantum computers to the digital economy, with the timeline and key milestones  
  • Advancements in corporate and academic research to counter the threat of quantum computing 
  • Best practices to protect critical infrastructure ahead of the post-quantum era 

This session, titled the “Applied Crypto Symposium – Cybersecurity in the Age of Quantum Computing,” will take place on December 9th, 2020, 12 pm ET/9 am PT to 2:15 pm ET/11:15 am PT. 

Read more on the full post here.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here